guzziriders.org - moto guzzi forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Introduction > Introduce yourself
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

back on a guzzi after 25 years

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote richiedan40 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: back on a guzzi after 25 years
    Posted: 24 Nov 2015 at 16:28
Hello everyone. I'm Richie and although I've been biking for over 30 years I haven't had a Guzzi since buying a 6 month old 1000s in 1990 , god I wish I still had that one. Anyway, I've just bought a 95 Cali 1100 I to accompany my good old bsa a65 1969 which I love to bits.
here's the cheeky bit , I am mechanically minded but I am predominately a bsa man , but have an affection for guzzis.
I bought this Cali in Ireland and rode her back and to be honest its great , rides well runs well and sounds lovely.ive done a few jobs since buying her like new oil and filter,adjusted the side stand switch( cutting out over bumps ) new leads and plug caps , plugs.
total fluids change also. And I've polished the rocker covers and all exposed alli. Like all old Cali,s she wants new paint ,which I'll do come spring but........here's the cheeky bit....and I know I'm new but desperate. When started from cold she fires on one cyl ,the left fires , its not the ign. I've swopped out everything and the problem remains on the same side. After30 seconds she's on two and pulls well. All day she's running great but when you leave her for a few hours she starts on one.I've turned the fuel off , left it on center stand,primed the fuel pump on the key a few times but to no avail. Has any one had this ? I cant see any evidence of head gasket ie. Combustion stains by the fins and as I said its ok after 30 seconds.

I do require your help on this one guys.
and Ps.....sorry for being cheeky...my assistance may be required in the future and I'm always willing to help.